Home > Uncategorized > Quickly Approaching 40!

Quickly Approaching 40!

By Alison Lehman

I have one day left of my 30’s. At church on Sunday I was talking with a friend and she asked me how I was feeling about turning 40. I told her that some days I think it’s no big deal, and other days I feel like I’m going to have a little mid-life crisis. Many of my friends from high school are hitting 40 also and we reminisce on Facebook,  “How did this happen? Weren’t we just in high school, like, yesterday? What do you mean we have teenagers?”

My friend told me that someone she knew celebrated her 50th with a big party because she felt blessed to be given the privilege of living that long. I like her way of looking at things. That changed my perspective quickly. Instead of feeling like time is going too quickly, I’ll choose to be grateful for the time God has given me. There are so many people who have had their lives cut short due to illness, accidents, suicide, natural disasters. I’m grateful that I’ve been given the chance to get married and have children.

Looking over the last 40 years, I feel blessed. Life hasn’t always been easy, but sometimes I think easy is boring. What is life without its challenges? I spent much of my 30’s healing from childhood and college years and although lots of good things happened in that decade, I’m glad it’s over. I’ve finally learned to love myself and I see God in a much clearer way now. I know that He also loves me.  I want to spend the next 40 years sharing that love with others and teaching my children to do the same.

So I’m going to embrace “40 “and be grateful for each day that God chooses to give me!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Karen
    June 11, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    That is a good prospective to hold onto. Keep lookin’UP!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

